Okay Make Up Your Mind! It’s Almost Time to Vote

by Mary Alys Cherry

The Nov. 6 presidential election is only weeks away, and already many are making up their minds who they’ll vote for while also electing congressional and legislative representatives, county commissioners, sheriff, judges, etc.

Expect a lengthy ballot, and remember these dates:

• Oct. 9 is the last day to register to vote in the November election.

• Oct. 30 is the last day to apply for a ballot by mail.

• Early voting will run from 

Oct. 22-Nov. 2.

League City will be right in the thick of it all as candidates vie with one another to win one of three city council seats – Position 3, 4 and 5 – and voters decide seven propositions.

Two incumbents, Mick Phalen and Phyllis Sanborn both have opposition. Heidi Thiess will challenge Phalen while Geri Bentley is running against Sanborn.

Meanwhile, John Babcock, Todd Kinsey and Jay F. Ewend will vie for the Position 4 seat, which is being vacated by Mike Lee, who chose not to run for re-election.

League City voters also will decide if they want to hold city elections every two years and allow council members to serve four-year terms instead of the current three; give the mayor a vote in all council decisions; prohibit renewal of the red light contract; and determine what is a council quorum.

The last proposal provides that a council member who is absent for three consecutive meetings of the council of any kind, including special meetings or workshops “shall be determined to have vacated the office.” It does not allow for any sickness or vacations.

Other contests expected to be spirited include congressional races for the District 14 seat between former Congressman Nick Lampson (D), Pearland City Councilman Randy Weber (R) and Zach Grady (L); and the District 36 race between former congressman and financial advisor Steve Stockman of Friendswood (R) and Max Martin (D), a pilot, of Clear Lake City. District 22 incumbent Pete Olson (R) is once again being challenged by Kesha Rogers (D).

The new District 36 includes Nassau Bay, part of Clear Lake City, El Lago, Taylor Lake Village, Seabrook and Shoreacres, plus the Baytown, Channelview, Deer Park, La Porte, Morgan’s Point, Highlands, Sheldon and Crosby.

State Rep. Craig Eiland (D-Galveston), an attorney, is being challenged by insurance agent Wayne Faircloth (R) of Dickinson for his District 23 seat, while Greg Bonnen (R) of Pearland, a physician, and Rusty Cates (D), a Clear Lake business owner, will slug it out for the District 24 state house seat formerly held by Larry Taylor (R), the Friendswood insurance agent who is the Republican nominee for State Senate District 11 and is opposed by Pearland housewife, Jacquelyn Acquistapace (D).

District 129 State Rep. John Davis (R) of Clear Lake City is unopposed as he runs for his 8th term.

Other high profile races include those for Harris County district attorney between Mike Anderson (R) and Lloyd Oliver (D); for Harris County sheriff between incumbent Adrian Garcia (D) and Louis Guthrie (R); with Henry Trochesset (R) and John W. Pruitt (D) hoping to replace Galveston County Sheriff Freddie Poor, who is retiring at the end of his term.

And, of course, President Barack Obama (D) is being challenged by former Gov. Mitt Romney (R) and former State Solicitor Ted Cruz (R) and former State Rep. Paul Sandler (D) are running for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison.

Clear Lake City residents also will take part in the $410 million City of Houston bond vote, which will not require a tax increase.

The bonds are needed to fund capital improvement projects such as foundation and roof repairs to several city-owned buildings, to build new police and fire stations, improvements to libraries, parks, health, trash and recycling facilities and to demolish blighted properties.


District 14 U.S. Rep.

Nick Lampson (D)

Randy Weber (R)

Zach Grady (L)

District 36 U.S. Rep.

Max Martin (D)

Steve Stockman (R)

District 23 State Rep.

Craig Eiland (D)

Wayne Faircloth (R)

District 129 State Rep.

John Davis (R)

Galveston County sheriff

John W. Pruitt (D)

Henry Trochesset (R)

Harris County sheriff

Adrian Garcia (D)

Louis Guthrie (R)

Harris County attorney

Vince Ryan (D)

Robert Talton (R)

Harris County DA

Mike Anderson (R)

Lloyd Oliver (D)

Galveston County 

Commissioner Pct. 1

Ryan Dennard (R)

Winston Cochran (D)

League City Council

Position 3

Mick Phalen (i), 65, retired

Heidi Thiess, 42, firearms dealer

Position 4

John E. Babcock, 53,safety engineer

Todd Kinsey, 42, freelance writer

Jay Frederick Ewend, 51, dishwasher

Position 5

Geri Bentley, 69, interior designer

Phyllis Sanborn (i),  59, retired

Leave a Reply

Bay Area Houston Magazine