District Science Fair winners announced

Clear Creek ISD Science Fair Grand Award winners show off their trophies as they stand with SAIC Program Manager and former astronaut Kenneth D. Cameron, left. They are, from left, Grand Award winner Kevin Cyr and runner up winners Allen Hu and Kushal Kadakia. Grand Award winner Perry Alagappan is not pictured.

The results have been tallied and the Clear Creek School District had some good news for about a hundred students as the winners of the 2012-2013 CCISD Science Fair were announced. More than 400 4th and 5th graders competed at the district level science fair.

“We had teacher volunteers from each of our 26 elementary schools who helped make the district fair a success,” said elementary science coordinator Anne Smith. “Our community of judges worked very hard to evaluate the projects and assign the awards.”

At the intermediate and high school level, 270 students competed in four divisions and 14 different categories. Winners were announced during a special award ceremony after projects were evaluated by teams of volunteer judges from the community.

They selected Grand Award winners and place winners. Approximately 100 Junior, Ninth and Senior division winners are eligible to advance to the Science Engineering Fair of Houston.

Winners of the Jesse A. Dorrington 2013 Grand Award are:

Jesse A. Dorrington 2013 Grand Award

Life Science – Kevin Cyr

Bridging the Gap Between in Vitro and in Vivo

Jesse A. Dorrington 2013 Grand Award

Physical Science – Perry Alagappan

Optical Characterization of SWNTS in a Magnetic Field

2013 Grand Award Runner Up

Life Science – Kushal Kadakia

Heavy Metal Removal Using Fe3O4 Nanoparticles II

2013 Grand Award Runner Up

Physical Science – Allen Hu

Effects of Calix(4) Pyrrole on Dye-Sensitized Cells

2013 CCISD Science Fair Special Awards

Swaralayam Arts Forum: Sound Music Through Science

9th/Senior Division

Sulochana Pattabhiraman Award

Rosie Fasullo

Drumming It Up

Honorable Mention

John Lin

Identifying Corresponding Sheet Music and Audio

Junior Division

Pattu Rajagopalan Award

Megan Flores and Ankita Rao

Shop the Beat: Effect of Music Tempo on Purchase Intentions

Honorable Mention

Isha Parupudi

The Effect of Music on HR and BP

CCISD District Fair Special Awards 2013 CCISD District Fair Special Awards also were given to students who completed a science fair project every year from Kindergarten through 12th grade. The “Lucky13” winners:

  • Anne Arceneaux- CLHS
  • Travis Banneyer – CBHS
  • Brittney Butler – CBHS
  • Allen Hu – CLHS
  • Julia Kuchenmeister – CSHS
  • Rohan Limaye – CBHS
  • Chamali Raigama – CLHS
  • Ryan Sharpe – CBHS

12-Year winners:

Amanda Bradley – CLHS

Elizabeth Craft – CFHS

Christopher Fleming – CFHS

Shyam Gaudhi – CBHS

Jasmin Gildere – CLHS

Harsh Gupta – CLHS

Patrick Harold – CLHS

Eric Ho – CLHS

Andrew Hood – CLHS

Sabrina Hussain – CLHS

Brenna Johnson – CLHS

Jacob Kantara – CSHS

Deeksha Madala – CLHS

Ellen Martin – CBHS

Nick Motamedi – CLHS

Sarah Pierce – CSHS

Homais Qadri – CLHS

Kaanan Shah – CLHS

Pieryn Sinwiroon – CFHS

Mauricio Sotamayor – CLHS

Rishi Suresh – CBHS

Adam Verma – CLHS

Karen Yen – CLHS

Amanda Zhao – CLHS

Additional winners are listed on the CCISD website.


Leave a Reply

Bay Area Houston Magazine